a7d313eab3f983c8ae4abca138e981b4ddd91a29_m

The “TOO MUCH TV” Chopping Block Post

Well, it had to happen at some point.  The main issue I have is that there is just too much TV to watch now.  At some point I have to sleep, eat, poop and have a life.  It’s ridiculous how many shows premiered this year.  Even for the ones I did watch, there were probably as many that I didn’t just because I don’t have enough time and DVR space.  Thus, I had to figure out the most scientific way to figure out what was going to stay and what was going to go the way of the Dodo Bird.  Using exhaustive of analytics, research and soul searching I derived the most fair way to excise the bottom of the barrel TV series.  Talking to tons of reviewers, scanning the internet for viewer opinions and scouring the trades; the method developed was – who had the most unwatched episodes on my DVR.  HA!

Here we go.

The Player (NBC):  It’s not that I don’t like the series.  It’s fine.  It’s sort of like a reverse-Person of Interest (which I find to be droll and fairly uninteresting) mixed with a bit of Human Target (a really fun series).  I actually will come back to this series over the summer and watch the entire season.  The problem is, there are just more interesting shows to watch.  It’s a little too far-fetched for me to really stick with week to week, this series begs to binge watched.  I’m happy to see Wesley Snipes back in the game again, but I need him to be in it in another capacity.  Plus, the British blonde really gets on my nerves.

The Big Bang Theory (CBS):  After years of watching this series, I’m over it.  It’s not that I don’t find aspects of it still funny, I just don’t have the need to catch up with the motley crew anymore.  It was fun while it lasted.

With that said, I have few other candidates that are currently getting their last rites, a final meal and doing their final walk:

Supergirl (CBS):  I think the ratings dip week to week speak for themselves.   The show isn’t bad, it’s just not good either.  They have some quality SFX that make (some) of the fight scenes quite spectacular, but the issues I’m having with this series seem to be growing insurmountable.  For 1) it wants to be a Superman show but can’t be for numerous contractual and story reasons, 2) the The Devil Wears Prada vibe is annoying to the Nth degree, 3) I like Melissa Benoist as Kara Zor-El, but she’s just TOO daggone sweet and it’s taking away from the power of the character and 4) Calista Flockhart is so painfully awkward that she chews up screen time in the worst way.  For now, I’m only watching for nostalgic reasons and the chance to see some classic characters come to life.  I’m a diehard comic book adaptation supporter, but – not all adaptations are equal and they aren’t all good.

Sleepy Hollow (FOX):  I really, really, really want to stick with this series.  Last season wasn’t great, but it was still fun in its own way.  When independent, strong, Black, Abbie was transported back in time to colonial (pre-emancipation) American times – I hollered.  That was a fantastic piece of storytelling that combined the nuances of the modern civil rights era with the horrors of slavery during the founding of this nation.  However, the series is starting to show the limitations of its premise with the villain of the season narrative.  As it is, the season starts off with the main big bad, The Headless Horseman, being taken completely out of play episode one.  There’s little doubt that we won’t see him again until the end of the season, but he was one of the reasons anyone watched the series to begin with.  Regardless of that, Sleep Hollow has been a fun series, but I’m sort of getting a little exhausted with it’s shtick.

The Muppets (ABC):  I’ve been a fan of The Muppets since I was kid (many moons ago) so I was thrilled to hear that The Muppets were coming back to TV.  However, while still The Muppets in spirit; it’s not The Muppets I really care about.  The incessant bickering and office politics the show now centers around is a bit off-putting.  It’s not even that funny when it SHOULD be funny.  My biggest issue though is that it’s not a show I can enjoy with my kids.  After seeing the last two movies (and the many others in years past), I figured this would be one of those shows that I could sit down with my kids, eat some popcorn and watch Kermit and the gang’s weekly antics.  I appreciate the modernization of the series in terms of the nightly TV talk show format, but The Muppets are not crude creatures.  Even when they’d make the occasional joke (for the adults) that suggested a mature topic, they never – went there.  Now, they do.  We all knew that it was implied that The Electric Mayhem members were always high, but they just pretty much say their high now.  There was a whole episode when one of the characters made a killing selling brownies to them because they had the munchies all of the time.  There’s no real fun in that.  I think that there are still some redeemable qualities to the show, but as time goes on I feel less and less inclined to overlook its glaring disparities.

Well, until next time.  So many so shows, so many to cut.

