2nd Run Theater: The Maze Runner (2014) – I Hope You Don’t Have Asthma

I’m pretty much not interested in the young adult (book adapted) movie scene, but I stumbled upon this one literally by accident.  I was looking for something else and instead found this movie.  I remember the trailers and never paid more attention than that.  Nothing about this movie seemed that interesting or compelling at the time.  Well… I was wrong … because the movie is legitimately good.  Actually, it is probably the start of a decent little franchise.  There are elements of “Lord of the Flies” mixed with “The Running Man” and a healthy dash of “Resident Evil” thrown in for flavor.

What I found to be the most surprising element was that the acting was crisp and never seemed forced.  I was never really brought out of the movie by the farceness of the situation because the reactions and motivations of the cast made sense.  It all seemed sort of viable thus it gave a lot of credence to the circumstances and the trials the characters went through.  So kudos to good casting and a good script.  The surprises in the movie were good surprises and then it began to really come together and gave me a better sense of what this movie was about.  Even at the very end, they weren’t without a few slights of hand and it was the end of the movie that sold me on this franchise.

No spoilers though.

The sequel The Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials is set to be released on September 18th and I will now be in the theater with my bucket of popcorn and Milk Duds.

Bring plenty of albuterol though because these kids run more than any character in The Hobbit or Lord of the Rings put together.

I recommend plunging in and running at a full sprint to see this movie.

