2nd Run Theater: The Equalizer/Non-Stop/Drive Along (2014)

I’m on vacation for the holidays and just taking in a few movies while I have free moments.

menofaction.jpg

The Equalizer (2014)

Had this movie been made in 1995 and starred Sylvester Stallone, it would have been equally as thrilling.  Maybe it was the script, the slo-mo shots, the walkaway explosions or maybe it was the bombastic heavy metal music that would erupt at the beginning and end of each action scene, but it just reminded me of pretty much any “cut and paste” action movie I’ve ever seen.  However, that’s not a bad thing at all.  As an 80’s child, I’ve grown up on these types of flicks and have great fondness for these “he’s really that badass” type flicks.  While I’m not sure what the real impetus for Robert McCall’s (Denzel Washington) one-man war on the Russian Mob, I generally accept that it had a lot to do with his odd relationship with the prostitute, Teri (Chloe Grace Moretz) and the overall injustice brought down upon her.   Regardless of the reason, Denzel opened up a can of Book of Eli on the mob and it was fun to watch.

Non-Stop (2014)

Liam Neeson is yet again using his 6’4, Irish physique to beat criminal senseless and take up 6/10th’s of the screen with the width of his shoulders alone.  This time though he’s an Air Marshal on a flight to London that’s been hijacked and it’s a race against time to save the passengers and also battle against the same impatient passengers plotting against him.  The flick was okay, but it’s extremely forgettable.  Additionally, the twist at the end of the flick was interesting, but it wasn’t that big a deal.  Ultimately, Liam’s second career as an action hero appeals to me and many on a multitude of levels, but unlike Taken (2008) or Unknown (2011) this missed the mark on several levels.

Ride Along (2014)

I pretty much ignored this flick when I first saw the trailer.  It looked funny and all, but I’m not the biggest Kevin Hart fan and in general I just ignore Ice Cube movies unless he has a strong funny man or strong supporting cast/story.  However, in between my 3rd glass of egg nog with rum and some random conversation this flick came on and family movie time commenced with the adults.  All in all, it was funny little flick.  Predictable and forgettable, but it had some real funny moments and a couple of “holler out loud” moments.  I’m not going to lie though, the “yeah, I’m short – but I’m funny” antics started to get old after about the 30th reference 15 minutes in, but it did help to spawn a few moments when Kevin’s diminutive size did sort of add to the flare of the film.  Ice Cube is Ice Cube – moving along.  I realize that I’m really not the target market for this flick, but I’m also not above a little silly humor every once in a while.

