2nd Run TV Review: Breaking Bad Season 3

When you have children, you always have family. They will always be your priority, your responsibility. And a man, a man provides. And he does it even when he’s not appreciated or respected or even loved. He simply bears up and he does it. Because he’s a man.

-Gus/Episode 5 “Mas”

What can I say, this show is the bomb.  I never really got the fandom, but I do now.  I am truly kicking myself for not jumping on this bandwagon sooner.  This series has made me rethink other series like “Chuck” and “Mad Men” and the quality of their rabid fanbases.  What I know for sure is that by the time I got to the last episode of this season, I was on the edge of my seat.

The stakes are extremely high for the cast of characters.  Hank is in a bad way, Walter is at his wit’s end, Jesse is just a mess, Skylar has revealed the depths she’s willing to go for family, Gus is the most conniving individual I’ve seen on TV in years and Saul is hands down one of the most comical creations on TV.  I truly felt for the first time since this series started that we are seeing the REAL characters and how tragedy and adversity has revealed the “man behind the curtain”.  There are few shows that when I say a character has “grown” that I mean that in a manner that isn’t more enlightened, but more pragmatic and primal.  The events of last season, that directly affect the events of this season have now started to bear fruit.  I think this is the season where Walter, Jesse and Skylar have started to erupt from their cocoons and now are blossoming into creatures of a scary sort.

If there was a phrase that I would use to describe this season, it would be, “the roses that bloom in blood.”

The last episode of the season was truly the make or break episode of this whole series to this point.  The last episode, aptly titled “Full Measure”, was a no-holds barred, I’m all-in, put it all out there episode that had my heart racing at moments because there really was a moment when I felt that Walter and Jesse were at the end of their rawkus journey.  The worlds were colliding and it was a race against time to a pretty epic conclusion.  This was skillfully executed like a Shakespearean play.  The was no comedy at play here but pure, unadulterated and unequivocal tragedy.

On my FB Page, I surmised that Walter was scum of the Earth.  I understood why he did what he did, but he’s a leech and it’s only a matter of time before his end comes, from cancer or otherwise.  This season gave me a new perspective on Walter White; he’s the personification of strife.  A pure act of contention toward his various situations and those around him.  The first sin in the world was a snake making a person believe they were something they weren’t – and everyone has paid the price since.  Walter White is such a snake (unknowingly) in my eyes and it’s awesome to watch him fight and succumb to his true nature.

 

Season 4 – here I come.

