ARSENIO HALL IS BACK!!!!!

After Oprah Winfrey’s departure from daytime television there has been talk and buzz about who will seize the daytime talk throne. A slew of talk shows have launched within the past couple of years to fill the void – but one area that seems to remain untouched by media heads is late night television. It is obvious that the diversity of hosts after 6 p.m. wanes in major media, with T.J. Holmes being a lone ranger with his late night hour-long show ‘Don’t Sleep’.  As the network struggles to attract black viewers, another black male host will be adding his mix into the late night television world.

Remember Arsenio Hall? The comedian hosted The Arsenio Hall Show in the early 1990s, and his show was met with great success by younger audiences. On September 9, 2013, Arsenio is back with an all-new syndicated talk show. A promo has emerged giving viewers a glimpse of what Arsenio’s return will be like.

“Some say he never existed at all. But others swear that when night grips the city, if you close your eyes and listen — really listen — you can still hear the pulse-pounding, hair-raising, spine-chilling sounds of… the Wolfman,” a voice says on the promo track, speaking of Arsenio’s branded talent.

In a television landscape that is unlike the era in which Hall first built success and continues to struggle with black viewership for positive programming, do you think this late night show will stand be able to find an audience and survive?

I for one am THRILLED with this news.  I remember staying up late at night during high school faithfully watching the original Arsenio Hall Show that ran from 1989 – 1994 and thinking how groundbreaking it was.  For one, there weren’t too many non-Caucasian folks on TV during that period with their own show.  His year long stint as The Tonight Show host only prepared him for what I believe was probably one of the coolest, funniest and energetic late night TV talk shows to ever air on TV.  Say what you want, but it was his show that made it cool for political figures to really let their hair down on talk TV.  Who remembers Bill Clinton playing the sax while he was running for President against George H. Bush (got my vote)?  Who remembers his fascination with B. Angie B.’s booty?  Who remembers his interview with Jason Voorhees?  Or Prince showing off his bottomless pants (I’ll spare you the image)? RLMAO!  This show had it all and it was with GREAT sadness that the show ended in 1994 after 5 awesome years.  I literally have been a fair-weather watcher of late night TV talk shows ever since – however, you can count me as an avid viewer once this hits the air September 9, 2013.

 WOO! WOO! WOO! WOO! WOO! WOO! WOO! WOO! WOO! 

WWF’s The Ultimate Warrior
When Madonna was actually sexy

Young Raven Symone

Arsenio-Hall-in-the-1990s

2 thoughts on “ARSENIO HALL IS BACK!!!!!

  1. I want to share in your joy on this one brother, but alas I cannot. You know how it is, “here today, gone…TODAY!” You know in this business you are only as good as your last gig and while I would want Arsenio to be known as GREAT for being the first late night host to have had hip-hop on his show (I’m sure we all remember the EPIC TCQ feat. LONS performing “Scenario”), these days Arsenio is more so thought of as “oh right, the Black Guy from Celebrity Apprentice?” Sadly, his clownery while on (and after the show) makes me wish that people would forget that and know the true, real, “Harlem Nights” and “Coming to America” Arsenio, but I think he may have trumped himself out of the game hanging out with Mr. “Show me your birth certificate.”. Oh and those “you can borrow many here” commercials of which he looks more so like he was advertising for Dionne Warwick’s psychic friends network haven’t helped either. Just sayin. I think I’d rather the Boondocks just come back.

    Like

    1. I hear you, but fortunately I’m not privy to much of his career after the TV show… so, for me… I’m not as biased. Like Conan, I’ll give it a week and see if it’s worth sticking with… if not, like Conan, I’ll go find something else to watch. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.