Will & Jaden Smith in “After Earth” – Trailer

afterearth

After a crash landing, a father and son explore a planet that was evacuated by humans 1,000 years earlier.

My first impressions:   it feels like “Castaway” meets “Robinson Crusoe” meets “Lost In Space”.  I get where they’re going with this and I hope it’s for the good.  This will be Jaden Smith’s first movie since “The Karate Kid”.  Which so happens to be one of the more surprisingly good films in the last 5 years – I was even routing for him by the end of the flick.  I was impressed by his acting chops and the ability to tear up at any given moment like his father.  However, I haven’t heard ANY buzz on this flick since I heard it was coming out.  Now, that could be a good or bad thing.  Good News:  There isn’t any stench of negativity from the internet troll community, which means more impressionable minds may give it a chance.  Bad News:  There’s NO hype at all for this flick that I can sense.  Genre movies have a funny way of surprising you in the box office.  Some movies just blow up, while others fizzle out of the gate.  However, I am a Will Smith fan (with a little “f”).  I like most of his work and find him to be a credible actor.  The Will Smith I grew up with as one half of Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince has truly grown up and I’ve grown up alongside him from his breakout role in “Six Degrees of Separation” to his hit TV series “The Fresh Prince of Bel Air” to his mega-hit movies and franchises.  I don’t know how I feel about the movie as of yet, but – I’m willing to be open-minded about another possible great summertime (no pun intended) genre flick.

Check it out in the theaters, June 7, 2013.

See the trailer here.

