Ask Away: Reader Questions & My Answers

I’m so sorry!

I'm sorry, I really am!
I’m sorry, I really am!

I know it’s been a couple of weeks since my last post, but that couldn’t be avoided.  Fortunately, I’m a lucky husband and father of three,so my life got a little full taking care of them and celebrating Thanksgiving with the extended family.  However, I did get a few questions via e-mail over the last week and I wanted to take the time to answer them.

Q:  Why so long between posts? 

A:  I apologize profusely for the extended wait, but like any parent – you have to put family first at times.  Between my baby’s dedication ceremony and Thanksgiving, I just didn’t have time to post like I wanted to.  However, fear not!  You shall be seeing some new posts coming your way!!!

Q:  How old are you?

A:  HEY!!!!  THAT’S A SENSITIVE QUESTION!  LOL!  No, seriously… I’m 39 as of September.   If you knew what I had to deal with in the past (some self-inflicted), you’d know that I’m the happiest 39 year old on the planet.

Q:  Will you be reviewing movies?

A:  Absolutely!  Some of the movies I review will be because my kids pretty much run my movie-going life.  However, as a fan of movies (especially genre movies) you’ll be seeing reviews of whatever I can get out of the house and see.  Most recently I saw the “Rise of the Guardians” movie with my two eldest last weekend, so expect to see a review on that this weekend.

Q:  Are you into comics?

A:  I’ve been a collector since 1988 (Thank you and R.I.P. Eugene).  I’m not an uber fan, but I know my comics and they’ve been a source of joy and inspiration for me since I was a teen.

Q:  What are your top 5 movies?

A:  Here you go:

  1. Shawshank Redemption:  Probably one of the most beautifully directed and powerful movies about the power of friendship under extreme circumstances I’ve ever seen.  Women have “The Joy Luck Club”, I have Shawshank….
  2. The Godfather:  For my birthday one year – years ago, I asked my mom to buy me a Collector’s Edition of The Godfather Trilogy.  It’s one of my most coveted possessions.  Forget what it’s done to inspire a whole Hip Hop generation, it was a powerful story about family and destiny.
  3. The Matrix:  To me, this changed the game in how movies are shot and the stories that could told.  It’s the reason why I don’t go to see what I call “HBO movies” anymore in the theaters – now I only see blockbusters.  Period.  It showed me how the visual medium could be used to magnify a story to epic proportions   I know it’s cool to hate on Reloaded and Revolution, but quite honestly I loved the whole trilogy as one complete story.
  4. The Dark Knight:  After seeing “The Dark Knight Rises”, I just knew and proclaimed it to be the best superhero movie I had ever seen.  However, after the euphoria died down, I kind of had to rethink and reassess my thoughts on it.  While still a strong movie (yeah it had holes), I had to go back to TDK (it had holes too) as a completely surprising classic based upon the performance and mystery of the late Heath Ledger’s performance as The Joker.
  5. Snatch:  I’m sorry, but if you haven’t seen this movie  then you need to hit up Netflix/Hulu/whatever and sit back and enjoy this ride through the English criminal underground.  Brad Pitt plays a gypsy character in this movie that on one hand is somewhat comical and a bit jarring (mostly because you can barely understand what he says), but deadly and scary all in one breath.  This is a GREAT movie.  In your second viewing, turn on the subtitles because some of the language can be REALLY British.

I had a few more questions, but I sort of summed them all up in these questions that I posted.

Okay…  that’s it folks.  I will answer more question as they come in over time.

See you next at the same bat time, same bat channel.

Good bye!
Good bye!
